It’s Summer. Now what?

I’ve been asking myself that question since before Summer even began.

Again, it has been a very, very poor school year, compared to what I was expecting. And if I want to keep on moving forward, and be any different, this Summer is going to define that. I need to take the three months I have and use it to become a different and better person, and that’s what I want to do.

So! How to start? Well, I’m first taking a break actually because school was stressful. But after the QuestBridge Yale Conference, my first big thing is to create a schedule. I feel like a schedule will lead to discipline, and that’s the first thing I want to do. I want to set a firm time to go to bed, and another one to wake up. I want to spend my days being productive, which I will get to in a second. And I also want to lose weight and be healthier. When you have a ton of schoolwork you don’t have much time to get up and about, so I want to have at least three hours of exercise per day (1-hour run, 1-hour biking, 2 30-minute workouts). That goes hand in hand with my sleep schedule: I want to get good sleep for once, and the best way to accomplish that is with a sleep schedule.

So what about being productive? Well, this has two parts to it. First, I want to find a job and earn money. To do this, I will use only three guidelines:

  1. Don’t do anything immoral for money
  2. Don’t work at a grocery store
  3. Don’t work at any place that serves food

The first one is self-explanatory, the second one is to avoid boredom, and the third is to avoid smelling like the food I’m serving. If I don’t find a job by the end of June I’ll ditch the rules altogether.

But this I want to do to build a work ethic and to, again, earn money. On top of that, however, I need to focus on the college process and set firm deadlines to get that done and out of the way, so that’s another big step. And finally, I want to continue on the science project I am working on with a group of friends. I’ll explain none of it here because it’s public, but I want something to come out of it.

I also want to leave time to study, learn some code, and read good books, which you should see in the Goodreads Widget at the bottom of the page. So overall it’s a very ambitious goal, but I will start this Monday and see how it works. Maybe if I am in charge of my own schedule I can actually be productive, and then translate the work ethic and discipline into school, when I don’t have that much control and time.

Wish me luck! I’ll give updates once a week. And yes, I know no one is reading this, but it just feels good to write down.

Picture was taken at Assateague Island National Seashore

Leave a Reply

